Yap assures continuity of programs

  • 609

This post has already been read 181 times!

Congressman Eric Go Yap will head back to the Lower House, this time as a full – time law maker for Benguet Province after dominating the 2022 Congressional race.   

Yap, who was appointed as the province’ caretaker in 2020, garnered 123,801 votes winning in 11 municipalities against his closest rival Victor Palangdan with 71,200 securing key votes in Itogon and Bokod.

With the landslide victory, Yap assured Benguet residents the continuity of infrastructure projects, social programs and free medical services.

“Itutuloy ko yung mandato ko na tumulong sa mga kailyan natin, dun sa mga remote areas. Lahat aabutin natin, wala pa ring pababayaan. Lahat ng mga kailyan natin, maging malayo man, basta may nangangailangan ng tulong, bibigyan natin,” added Yap.

The solon added he is also bent on constructing more farm to market roads in the province, one of the solutions eyed in helping farmers deliver their produce to the different market faster.

“Ngayong nanalo si apo Bongbong Marcos, I am very confident na ang Benguet ay hindi mapapabayaan. Kung kaya nating ihingi ang 60 kilometers farm to market road a year, yun po ang gagawin natin,” added Yap.  

Other infra projects include the full rehabilitation of Kennon Road and construction of potable drinking water system in the province.

With vegetable smuggling as one of the issues hurled against the solon during the campaign, Yap said he is willing to work closely with all the stakeholders, such as farmers, traders, the Department of Agriculture and the Bureau of Customs to help in curbing the long time problem that has been hounding farmers in the province. 

“Lahat ng nag – aakusa sa atin na ako ay involve sa smuggling, china – challenge ko kayo. Makipagtulungan kayo sa akin. Kung gusto niyong ipaglaban ang mga farmers. Samahan niyo ako para bulabugin natin ang mga taga Customs,” added Yap.           

In the gubernatorial race, Gov. Melchor Diclas was given another fresh three – year term after garnering 112,345 votes against Board Member Robert Namoro who came in second after earning 64,187votes. 

Contractor Erickson Felipe had 101, 267 dislodging incumbent Vice Governor Johnny Waguis who had 68,681 votes to earn him a seat at the provincial capitol.

Tabuk Elected board members elect for District 1 include Johannes Amuasen, Sander Fianza, Florencio Bentrez, and Juan Nazarro while district 2 board members are Neptali Camsol, Joel Tingbaoen Jr., Ruben Paoad, Robert Canuto, Fernando Balaodan Sr., Rose Marie Fongwan-Kepes.