Tabuk LGU recognizes outstanding barangays


TABUK CITY, Kalinga  – The City Government of Tabuk recognized the exemplary accomplishments of the barangays through awards and citations during the Solidarity Night, June 23, Friday at the People’s Gymnasium.

These awards were the 2016 Cleanest and Greenest Barangays, Sandugo, Disaster Preparedness, the Mayor’s Cup and Gangsa.

For the cleanest and greenest barangays (urban category), the top three winners are Magsaysay, Casigayan and Dagupan Weste, while Tuga, Cabaritan and Laya Weste won for the rural category.

For the urban category, the cash incentives were P120,000.00, P80,000.00 and P40,000.00 and plaque; and P90,000.00, P60,000.00 and P30,000.00 and plaque for the rural category.

According to George Padalla of City Environment and Natural Resources Office (CENRO), the search for the cleanest and greenest barangays used the following criteria: good governance (legislation and transparency), administration (creation of committee on environment or core group), social services (health and sanitation, information, education and communication campaigns), environment management approaches (implementation of proper solid waste management and greening program).

Another award presented was the Sandugo to acknowledge the support of barangays in the 2016 community blood donation program of the city government.

Presented by Jandel Taguiam of the City Health Office (CHO), the top five Sandugo barangays are Malalao, San Julian, Laya West, Lanna and Amlao- all received plaque of recognition.

Taguiam said that at least 1% of the total population from these barangays donated blood.

Certificates were also awarded to outstanding barangays in recognition of their contributions in the four thematic areas of disaster management. For the rural category, the top three winners are Magsaysay, Casigayan and Dagupan Weste, with and Cabaruan, Tuga and Cabaritan cited for the rural category.

Cash incentives were also given to barangays who placed in the top four winners of the 2017 Mayor’s Cup.

For basketball men, Bulanao Centro, Bulanao Norte, Laya West and Suyang received P20,000.00, P15,000.00, P10,000.00 and P5,0000.00 respectively and for the volleyball women with cash incentives of P10,000.00, P7,500.00, P5,000.00 and P2,500.00 for the top four winners were given to barangays Bulanao Centro, Balawag, Bulanao Norte and Appas.

Plaque of Commendation and P50,000.00 cash reward were also awarded to Barangay Dagupan Centro being the recipient of Local Tagapamayapa Incentives Award (LTIA)- Component Cities Category from 2013 to 2016.

The LTIA is given by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) to barangays for their exemplary mediation, attaining peace and order necessary for the development and prosperity of the people and the community through the attainment of the Katarungang Pambarangay mission and vision .

City Local Government Operations Officer Mediatrix Aliño presented the winners for the 2017 Forward Barangay Timpuyog or the ‘’Gangsa’’ Award.

The ‘’Gangsa’’ award is in response to the President’s call ‘’Tapat Na Pamamahala, Sa Barangay Ang Simula’’ to complement the quest for transparency, accountability and integrity under the four performance areas, namely, Administration, Social Services, Economic Development and Environmental Management.

From the May 18 to June 7, 2017 implementation period, the winners for the urban category are barangays Magsaysay, Bulanao Centro and Agbannawag;  barangays Tuga, Cabaritan and Bulo for the rural category.

P100,000.00, P75,000.00 and P50,000.00 cash incentive in the form of project and one set of gongs for the first placers of both categories were given.

Aliño also gave certificate of recognition to barangays Casigayan, Dagupan Weste, Amlao, Appas, Bado Dangwa, Cabaruan, Dilag, Lacnog, Lanna, Laya West and Nambaran for passing the assessment on good governance.

Meanwhile, Dr. Carmen Wanas of the City Veterinary Office (CVO) also gave certificate of recognition to barangays Cabaruan, Nambaran, Bulo, Magsaysay, Agbannawag and Lacnog for their support to City Ordinance No.04 Series 2009 also known as ‘’Rabies and Astray Dog Control Ordinance’’ and other animal health and welfare program of the city government.

Wanas mentioned that the barangays are awarded for their five-year compliance with no positive case of canine rabies.

Association of Barangay Captains (ABC) president Atty. Henry Tubban, Jr. expressed his gratitude for the efforts of the barangay councils and their support to LGU programs which lead to development which he said is very commendable.

By Darwin S. Serion