Scout Officials for a Day set October 3


BAGUIO CITY  – As part of the elderly month celebration, Senior citizens (SC) lead for a day in regional government agencies, at city hall and the barangays on October 3.

The different SC groups in the city through their respective representatives in coordination with the office of Councilor Lilia Farinas, City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) properly screened and selected the officials from applicants. Their qualifications, former professions, education, experiences and preferences were considered, it was known.

SC groups include the Veterans Federation of the Philippines (VFP), USAFIP Northern Luzon, Baguio Elderly Assembly (BEA), Federation of Baguio Senior Citizens Association (FBASECA), Blessed Association of Retirees (BARP), and Philippine Government Retirees Association (PGREA), with representatives Gerry Mecos, Eduardo Gamayon, IsaiasBarongan, Narciso Padilla, Federico Balanag and Edita Ibarra.

Councilor Farinas heads the Social Services, Women and Urban Poor council committee.

Atty. Virgilio Bautista sits in for Congressman Marquez Go; as Margarita Marinas unseats Mayor Mauricio Domogan while Vice Mayor Edison Bilog gives to Felix Bentayen all his duties and responsibilities, for a day.

SC Councilor Daniel Lee takes over the Barangay Affairs committee; SC James Gomez for Public Works; SC LoretaUmali for Ethics, Governmental Affairs and Personnel; SC Wilda Diaz for Health and Sanitation, Ecology and Environment; SC Rodolfo Abella for Employment, Livelihood and Cooperatives, Handicapped and Differently-Abled Persons.

SC Reynaldo Roldan takes care of the Market, Trade, Commerce and Agriculture committee; SC Lourdes Teliaken for Laws, Human Rights and Justice; SC Benjamin Tiago for Public Protection and Safety, Peace and Order; SC Josephine Flores for Education, Culture and Historical Research committee; and SC Margaret Tolero for Tourism, Special Events, Parks and Playgrounds.

The Urban Planning, Lands and Housing committee is under the care of SC Jesus Luzadas; Social Services, Women and Urban Poor, SC RufinaManongdo; and Public Utilities, Transportation and Traffic Legislation, SC Andrew Sagandoy.

City Hall Department Heads are also unseated for a day; SC Clarita Quitaleg is City Veterinarian, Cristeta Antonio sits as Treasurer, Robert Molina is City Secretary and RosvimindaOrig is City Social Welfare and Development Officer.

SC Rosemarie Lim is Planning and Development Officer; SC Rodolfo Estolas, Legal Officer; Leonora Safoket, Human Resource Officer; Francisco Mamuri, Health Officer; Florence Valenciano, General Services Officer; Lilia Cestona, City Environment and Parks Management Officer; ElicardoSualog, City Engineer.

City Director for Interior and Local Government (DILG) head Evelyn Trinidad lends her seat for a day to SC Luz Pascua; SC Atty. Gabino Chao-ayan is Dep-Ed Superintendent; SC FilomenaBaldas is Civil Registrar; SC Albert Madarang is City Building and Architecture Officer; and SC Mila Dar is Budget Officer.

SC Cesar Policarpio unseats Accountant Antonio Tabin on October 3; SC Gloria Molina is City Administrator; SC Cristina Estipona is Assessor vice Ma. AlmayaAddawe; and SC FlorendaBayuga is City Auditor.

Even regional offices are not spared: Lourdes Supsupin takes care of the National Nutrition Council (NNC) at the Dairy Farm, former Justice Hall librarian Namnama Lopez takes over the Social Security System (SSS); SC Leticia Soriano is Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) head for a day.

SC Amanda Casana had her first stint last Wednesday during the kapihan, vice Philippine Information Agency regional director Helen Tibaldo; EulaliaGamad is Philhealth CAR head, with Esperanza Lumague heads the Philhealth – City.

National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) is under the care of SC TeresitaCaras for a day; SC Susan Abenoja, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI-CAR); SC HedelizaPulanco, Department of Social Welfare and Development; SC Estela del Val, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH-CAR); SC Pilar Valente, DPWH (Baguio City).

SC Adeline Castillo sits in for Marie Venus Tan of the Department of Tourism (DOT-CAR); SC Erlinda Fuertes is Department of Transportation and Communication (DOTC) head, vice Celina Claver; SC DomingaBalangue is head of the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE-CAR); and SC Shirley Arukod is office head of the DILG-CAR.

Mines and Geo Sciences head Ms. Faye Apil is unseated for a day by SC Marilou Molina; SC Gloria Bravo takes over the Environmental Management Board (EMB) as SC Alberto Bravo is Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR-CAR) head.

SC Erlinda Cortez is Civil Service Commission –CAR head, with SC GuiaCabanban as Commission on Elections (COMELEC City) head and SC HerlindaBaldivino as COMELEC-CAR head; and SC EmeteriaBalawis as head of the Bureau of Immigration.

The theme for this year’s celebration is, “Pagmamahal at RespetongNakababata, NakapagpapaligayasaNakatatanda.”

By Julie G Fianza