MP founding anniversary, Lang-ay festival ends


Bontoc, Mountain Province  – The 48th Mountain Province Founding Anniversary and the month-long celebration of the 2015 Lang-ay Festival both conducted in April culminated with the 2nd Governor Mayaen’s Cup Invitational Shoot Fest held in Guina-ang Shooting Range over the weekend.

The activity was participated in by 60 gun owners from Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet and Manila who braced for the competition in order to empower responsible gun holders in the region to join similar events that will be held in the future.

Results of the shoot fest from the Provincial Sports Development Office (PSDO) showed that Holanson Daguio, a member of the Philippine Shooting Team grabbed the championship trophy in the Aggregates division while Alex Cayapa landed in second place with Lawrence Cherweg placing third.

Rex Gano was the champion in the Classic division, Marlon Pasadillo was second place while Anastacio Intugay third.

In the Standard division, Allan Solang emerged as the champion, June Bugtong landed second while Daniel Padcayan placed third.

Alexandro Calixto bagged the championship trophy in the Production division, Aaron Aniwasal was second while Gaston Cuting landed third.

For Lady Shooters, Jessel Balucas was the champion in the classic division, Elvy Lamangen in the Production division and Police Superintendent Dyan Bangcawayan in the Standard division.

In the Executive division for Classic championship, Arnaldo Petten was the champion followed by Jun Ngipol.  Theodore Marrero was the champion in the Production division followed by Bernard Copite. In Standard championship, Nazario Pagteilan was the champion followed by D. Dulnuan.

In the Lawman Standard division, Steve Catay emerged as champion while Joseph Pekcley landed in second. In the Lawman Production division, Edwin Focasan was declared the champion while Gaston Cuting landed in second place. For Lawman classic division, Jhon Farongyad was the champion followed by Armando Boyaoyao.

The Government Employee Standard Championship went to Leo Lamangen followed by Julius Malafo. James Chalason bagged the Government Employee Classic championship while Janson Kinfawan landed in first place. Joel Fiao-ag went home with the Government Employee Production championship trophy while Jun Cawed placed first.

In the Blue Guard Classic division, Ronnie Day-ong was the champion while George Morareng landed in first place. Chudli was the champion in the Blue Guard Production division followed by Art Aldas while Manuel Balucas emerged as champion followed by Jaime Dulay in the Blue Guard Standard division.

The Tyro Classic championship went to Hian Cherweg while Peckley Chomawar bagged the Tyro Production championship trophy as Guillermo Guyon went home with a Tyro Standard championship trophy.

In the Senior division, Brent Cullalad emerged champion, Geofrey Ana-ao placed second while Ephraim Guilles landed third.

The two-day shoot fest was facilitated by Eugene Cobsilen, a national Range Officer from the Cordillera.

Provincial Sports Development Officer Arnaldo Petten said that the shoot fest aims to remind gun owners of the of the gun safety rules.

On behalf of Governor Leonard G. Mayaen, Provincial Administrator Johnny V. Lausan emphasized that the shoot fest is a reminder for the gun owners to be responsible in handling their guns and not to use these in committing violence that may endanger life and property.

The activity was spearheaded by the Provincial Government of Mountain Province thru its PSDO in coordination with Foresite 1911 Gun Club and the Mountain Province Provincial Police Office. By Alpine L. Killa