600 triathletes join 4th Tigasin Triathlon


LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – About 600 triathletes from various parts of the country converged in the ‘bigger and better’ Tigasin Triathlon, a postlude activity of the Pistay Dayat 2018 celebration in Pangasinan held at the Capitol Complex on May 12-13.

Now on its 4th year, the Tigasin Triathlon was organized by the Trisports Solution, Inc. and sponsored by the Northern Cement Corporation in partnership with the Provincial Government of Pangasinan.

Elated over the unwavering support of multisport buffs joining this year’s Tigasin Triathlon, Provincial Sports Development and Management Council (PSDMC) Director Modesto M. Operania congratulated each participant for completing the race.

In saying this, he reminded each athlete that apart from the trophy, the most important things to bring back home are ‘discipline, respect and honor.’

Meanwhile, Trisports Solution, Inc. event head Mikey Chua bared that Tigasin Triathlon serves as the Filipino version of Ironman Triathlon, an international franchise of triathlon organized by the World Triathlon Corporation (WTC).

Chua also said that the doubled number of participants this year is a reflection of success of last year’s triathlon made possible through the outpouring support of the provincial government spearheaded by Governor Amado I. Espino, III.

Accordingly, this sporting event doesn’t only test the speed and endurance of local athletes but also play as an avenue in promoting the idea of sports-tourism which also calls for discovery of beautiful shorelines and beach locations in Pangasinan.

Juan Carlos Abad of NCC Tri Team won the open category male followed by Raymund Torio (2nd place) of Go For Gold and Jefferson Valdez (3rd place) of Sante Barley Team.

Torio, a resident of Lingayen Pangasinan, disclosed that as a ‘newbie’ in the scheme of triathlon, the transition of his old trainings in duathlon to his newly-adopted preparation were a bit challenging.

Meanwhile, Kim Kilgroe of Team De Rosa scored first in the open category female followed by Vicky Deldio (2nd place) of Pampanga’s Best and Sandi Menchi (3rd place) of Team Podium Botique Hotel.

Top three winners receive medals and cash prizes amounting to 50,000 –1st place; 35,000 – 2nd place; and 20,000 – 3rd place.

Prior the main event on May 13, an open-water swim competition was originally scheduled on May 12 but was later cancelled due to the unstable waves in the sea. As such, prelude activities including: standard distance male (open), standard distance female (open), sprint male (open), sprint female (open), male standard distance by age group, female standard distance by age group, female sprint by age and male sprint by age were held.

/Shiella Mae C. De Guzman